CNN-News18 Indian of the Year 2023: Who Will Win Top Honours at Star-Studded Event? – News18

Published By: News Desk
Last Updated: January 09, 2024, 22:22 IST
New Delhi, India
Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan will attend the CNN-News18 Indian of the Year 2023 awards ceremony on January 10, Wednesday.
From Bollywood’s Badshaah Shah Rukh Khan and maverick filmmaker Mani Ratnam to Olympian Neeraj Chopra, A-listers from the fields of entertainment, policy, sports, business and social service will descend on a shared platform at CNN-News18’s Indian of the Year 2023 awards on January 10, Wednesday.
Currently in its 13th edition, CNN-News18 Indian of the Year is an initiative that recognizes Indians who have made significant contributions to various fields and have had a profound impact on the nation. Since its inception in 2006, CNN-News18 Indian of the Year has firmly positioned itself as the biggest awards in the world of news television, celebrated for its unassailable credibility.
Over the years, the Indian of the Year award recipients have included the likes of PM Narendra Modi, Olympic gold medallist Neeraj Chopra, cricket star Virat Kohli, the Indian women’s cricket team, NGO Stop Acid Attacks, Chess Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand, AR Rahman, former PM Manmohan Singh, the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Nobel laureate Kailash Satyarthi, MC Mary Kom, Deepika Padukone, N Chandrasekaran and Arvind Kejriwal, to name a few.
The 2022 edition saw Neeraj Chopra being conferred with the Indian of the Year award for winning India’s first ever Olympic gold in track and field and then winning the world javelin championship.
Here’s a look at this year’s categories and nominees:

The esteemed panel of jurors comprises iconic figures, including former Solicitor General of India Harish Salve, screenwriter and lyricist Javed Akhtar, Supreme Court judge Indu Malhotra (retd), former Indian athlete and Vice-President of Athletics Federation of India Anju Bobby George, chairperson of RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group Sanjiv Goenka, and environmental activist and lawyer Afroz Shah.
Their collective wisdom will ensure a judicious selection of the most deserving awardees. So, who will be Indian of the Year 2023?


Leave a Comment