News18 Mega Opinion Poll: Uttarakhand May 'High-Five' BJP-led NDA, Give No Seat to INDIA – News18

Published By: News Desk
Last Updated: March 14, 2024, 19:57 IST
New Delhi, India
Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami. (PTI File)
The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) coalition is likely to win all five seats in Uttarakhand in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, leaving none for the Congress-led Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA), according to the News18 Mega Opinion Poll. The survey has predicted 62% vote share for the NDA, 30% for INDIA and 8% for others.
ALSO READ | News18 Mega Opinion Poll: Karnataka May Go Saffron, Give 25 of 28 Seats to BJP-led NDA
Uttarakhand became the first state to adopt the Uniform Civil Code ahead of the 18th Lok Sabha elections expected to take place between April and May. According to the past trends, the elections in the state can be conducted in the first quarter of the voting period. It is expected that the polling in the state will be conducted in a single phase.
Out of the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, Uttarakhand has only five seats, out of which, one has been kept for the Scheduled Caste candidate.
The BJP has repeated the names of three candidates, giving tickets to its sitting MPs Ajay Bhatt, Mala Rajya Lakshmi Shah and Ajay Tamta from Nainital, Tehri Garhwal and Almora, respectively.
News18's #OpinionPoll predicts BJP's clean sweep in #Rajasthan and #Uttarakhand;Also projects BJP ahead of Congress with 8 seats in #Telangana, grand old party likely to get 7, 2 for BRS
"The story in #Telangana is of course the collapse of BRS which is helping both BJP and…
— News18 (@CNNnews18) March 14, 2024
Since 2014, the BJP has been in control of the five Lok Sabha constituencies, and three MPs have been re-elected. Among them is Maharani Rajya Laxmi Shah (two-time MP from Tehri Garhwal), Ajay Tamta (two-time MP from Almora) and Ajay Bhatt, who won the Nanital Lok Sabha seat in 2019.
According to reports, former Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat and former Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni can be given tickets from Haridwar and Pauri.
21 states, 518 #LokSabha constituencies, 210 interviews…as News18 presents India's biggest & most comprehensive #OpinionPoll, here's a look at this mammoth survey's methodology Watch #LIVE | #MegaPollWithNews18 #LokSabhaElections2024 @Zakka_Jacob @AnchorAnandN @RShivshankar
— News18 (@CNNnews18) March 13, 2024
There were about 1,26,210 first-time voters in the state out of the total 78 lakh voters.
ALSO READ | News18 Mega Opinion Poll Predicts Stunning Saffron Sweep in Bihar: 38 of 40 Seats for BJP-Led NDA
The BJP won the Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar seat with a margin of 3,39,096 votes. BJP candidate Ajay Bhatt secured 7,72,195 votes including 7,022 postal ballots and defeated former CM and Congress leader Harish Rawat who received 4,33,099 votes including 1,998 postal ballots.


Leave a Comment