India’s Australia Tour to Start From 22nd November in Perth as Cricket Australia Announces Full Schedule – News18

Curated By: Cricketnext Staff
Last Updated: March 26, 2024, 14:04 IST
Melbourne, Australia
Indian players and officials celebrate with the winning trophy at the end of the fourth cricket Test match between Australia and India at The Gabba in Brisbane on January 19, 2021. / AFP
India’s Border-Gavaskar Trophy defence will begin from November 22, with the first Test of the 2023–24 series against Australia set to be played at the Perth Stadium in Perth, a Cricket Australia release on Tuesday confirmed.
Adelaide Oval will host the series’ only Day-Night Test starting 6th December, followed by the third Test at The Gabba, Brisbane, from December 14. Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the Boxing Day Test, and the fifth and final Test match of the five-match series will be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney.
Follow all the action from IPL 2024, including the IPL 2024 Schedule and IPL 2024 Points Table. Also, check Players vying for IPL 2024 Orange Cap and IPL 2024 Purple Cap
The 2023–24 series will be the first since 1991–92 to feature five Test matches between the two teams. India have been dominant in Australia in recent years, winning back-to-back Test series on Australian soil – 2018–19 and 2020–21 (both by similar margins of 2-1). Add to that India’s victories over Australia at home, and that’s four straight Test series that India have won against Australia.

22-26 November: Perth Stadium, Perth
6–10 December: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)
14-18 December: The Gabba, Brisbane
26–30 December: MCG, Melbourne
3–7 January: SCG, Sydney
Earlier, BCCI secretary Jay Shah had confirmed that this year’s series would be played across five Tests, adding that the step is in line with the board’s commitment to preserving the future of Test cricket.
“The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem,” Shah said.
“Our ongoing collaboration with Cricket Australia in extending the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests underscores our collective commitment to nurturing and elevating Test cricket’s significance,” he added.
Cricket Australia chair Mike Baird said the extension reflects the shared vision of the two boards.
“This extension echoes our shared vision to amplify the essence of Test cricket and uphold its legacy. As India and Australia, come together, we anticipate an enthralling spectacle that will captivate fans worldwide with its intensity and excitement,” Baird said.


Leave a Comment